• Title: Dennis Stock: James Dean
  • Author: Dennis Stock Joe Hyams
  • ISBN: 9780500544518
  • Page: 254
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Dennis Stock James Dean With three major films East of Eden Rebel Without a Cause and Giant all released within a year of each other and within months of his tragic death James Dean captured the world s imagination and ha
    With three major films East of Eden, Rebel Without a Cause, and Giant all released within a year of each other and within months of his tragic death, James Dean captured the world s imagination and has never let it go.Magnum photographer Dennis Stock met James Dean at the Ch teau Marmont in Hollywood in 1954, and they became fast friends Stock captured Dean s essence in aWith three major films East of Eden, Rebel Without a Cause, and Giant all released within a year of each other and within months of his tragic death, James Dean captured the world s imagination and has never let it go.Magnum photographer Dennis Stock met James Dean at the Ch teau Marmont in Hollywood in 1954, and they became fast friends Stock captured Dean s essence in a stunning series of images of the actor in the midst of family and friends, as well as alone, sleeping, lost in thought, in the frozen fields of Indiana, and on a rainy day in Manhattan It was an extraordinary collaboration between two people in full command of their respective talents.In the words of the Life magazine article that accompanied the first publication of these photographs, James Dean was the most exciting actor to hit Hollywood since Marlon Brando, but at the time the photographs were taken, he was still poised on the brink of fame Dennis Stock James Dean reintroduces these iconic photographs, taken at the dawn and high noon of a brief and brilliant career, with Dennis Stock s original accompanying text and a later introduction by Joe Hyams.

    One Reply to “Dennis Stock: James Dean”

    1. Can I go back in time and marry James Dean?A fabulous collection of photographs. Thank you Dennis Stock. A few of my favorite J.D. videos. Just because. youtube/watch?v=XBVm9youtube/watch?v=Xhd5Pyoutube/watch?v=2C_jryoutube/watch?v=utl28

    2. A wonderful and very high-quality photography book, that's perfect for fans of James Dean and everyone who would like to find out a bit more on how the most famous pictures of him came to be. :)

    3. Wow. Amazing. There's no wonder that James Dean is the epitome of "live fast, die young." It was so interesting to see his roots, farm past intertwining with the young star in the bright lights, the big city. And his face is great. There's no doubt that James Dean is an icon. I only wish there had been a bit more detail about his tragic end- it seemed a bit abrupt. But as my entrance into the world of biography, I'd say this one was a 5-star read. There wasn't too much flat detail of his day to [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *