• Title: Lead Me Home: Hardship and hope on the Oregon Trail
  • Author: Theresa Hupp
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 484
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Lead Me Home Hardship and hope on the Oregon Trail In Caleb Mac McDougall a young Bostonian seeks adventure on the Oregon Trail As he passes through Missouri he rescues Jenny Calhoun a lonely girl in trouble To join a wagon train bound for O
    In 1847, Caleb Mac McDougall, a young Bostonian, seeks adventure on the Oregon Trail As he passes through Missouri, he rescues Jenny Calhoun, a lonely girl in trouble To join a wagon train bound for Oregon, Mac and Jenny pose as a married couple On the arduous six month trek, they confront raging rivers, rugged mountains, and untrustworthy companions Together, Mac anIn 1847, Caleb Mac McDougall, a young Bostonian, seeks adventure on the Oregon Trail As he passes through Missouri, he rescues Jenny Calhoun, a lonely girl in trouble To join a wagon train bound for Oregon, Mac and Jenny pose as a married couple On the arduous six month trek, they confront raging rivers, rugged mountains, and untrustworthy companions Together, Mac and Jenny face the best and worst in themselves and in each other, while discovering the beauty and danger of the western frontier Fans of Lonesome Dove and True Grit will enjoy Lead Me Home a gripping saga of courage, sacrifice, and enduring friendship.

    One Reply to “Lead Me Home: Hardship and hope on the Oregon Trail”

    1. Have you ever wanted to go back in time and ride in a Conestoga wagon on the Oregon Trail? Here's your chance. Ms. Hupp has created a setting and characters so realistic that the reader might believe the diary entries she includes in each chapter came from a real traveler. Her research did, in fact, include reading diaries, maps, and first-hand accounts of such journeys. Not only did I vicariously sweat during the trip across the western deserts, grow nervous about river crossings, feel the dust [...]

    2. Jenny and Mac are both running. Running from guilt, shame and anger. That their paths cross is a benefit and burden to both. Mac needs Jenny so he can join a wagon train to Oregon City and Jenny needs Mac to keep her secret in the dark. The journey along the trail is told with much reality (though it was probably much tougher). Theresa Hupp stayed as true as possible to the forts, people and rivers along the trail. The characters are believable and enjoyable to read about. Excited to read the ne [...]

    3. Awesome book!I really enjoyed reading this book. It captures your interest from the very first page. It would have been better if the foul language, especially the taking of God's name in vain, had been left out. I'm anxious for the sequel.

    4. Well written fictional stories.Good book but i jumped ahead to the last two chapters because there are just so many fictional and similar books written. I don't plan to read anymore since they all seem to have the same scenario of the difficulties the pioneers endured.

    5. Historical fiction in the best way possible. From a killer first line to the very last line Hupp drew me in and let me forget everything about my current reality. Mack & Jenny were tangible and true to their time period. The detail and clarity regarding the historical facts and what the wagon-train settlers went through was amazing. It was a great read and I can't wait for the sequel.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *