• Title: Pick Me Up
  • Author: Zoe Rice
  • ISBN: 9780451218445
  • Page: 459
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pick Me Up Introducing this season s most delightful new heroine Yesterday Izzy was a happily single full fledged New York gallerista selling hundred thousand dollar paintings and in line for a whopping promo
    Introducing this season s most delightful new heroine Yesterday Izzy was a happily single, full fledged New York gallerista, selling hundred thousand dollar paintings, and in line for a whopping promotion Today The ancient owner of the gallery dropped dead, leaving Izzy s entire professional future in the hands of the new owner, Avery Devon And if all goes right, herIntroducing this season s most delightful new heroine Yesterday Izzy was a happily single, full fledged New York gallerista, selling hundred thousand dollar paintings, and in line for a whopping promotion Today The ancient owner of the gallery dropped dead, leaving Izzy s entire professional future in the hands of the new owner, Avery Devon And if all goes right, her personal future as well Because if there s one thing Izzy is well acquainted with, it s the fine art of love.

    One Reply to “Pick Me Up”

    1. I really liked this book. It is about a girl who works in an Art gallery, and the owner of the gallery dies and they hire a new dealer. It is a light book, very easy to read. And of course it has a happy ending.

    2. This is one of the few books I've read set in the art world that I've actually enjoyed. Isabel Duncan is a 27 year old up for a promotion at the Emerson Bond Gallery, when the owner of the gallery dies. Isabel, is better known as Izzy to her friends and family. She's been hurt many times in love and has decided not to trust any male, yet she can't stop herself from daydreaming about potential mates. There's Avery Denton who's going to be the new dealer for the gallery, and Isabel's new boss. And [...]

    3. Definetly in my top 5 favourite books ever. You may ask why? Well I loved the simplicity in the story. It was basically a love story and I loved how it made me feel all lovely inside, and thats what a good book does. Makes you feel the emotions of the characters and to feel that for them as well. Pick Me Up, captured me from the beginning and I liked the lead character and how she was different and not moaning. I liked the fact she was career oriantated and then she learnt about what was more im [...]

    4. I'm so annoyed. The fifth book that is leaving me with this depressing question: Have I lost the ability to pick up a good book? The plots usually sound, if not ingenious, at least intriguing enough to pick up. These books on my currently reading list are inane fluff that can't seem to properly lasso a great dialogue or flowing action. I haven't become so disgusted by any of them enough to relegate them to the "probably won't finish" shelf, but I'm fast approaching that threshold. A book that mi [...]

    5. I stumbled upon this book in a rush at the library, and was attracted to the fact that it seemed light and cheery overall, with an art history slash modern art bent (due to the main character working for a gallery). I really enjoyed the character development and the story's ability to bring me into it. I read it in 3 days, just because it's such an easy, entertaining, enjoyable read. I recommend it for someone who just wants a fun, good read - closer to the "summer reading" genre, but written by [...]

    6. I persisted and was rewarded at the end. What I like about this book is that we finally have a protagonist who is truly intelligent or at least book-smart. She knows her work well and she is very cultured. However she is not that street-smart and far too gullible when it comes to men. I love her best girlfriend (who is so damn supportive, edgy and cool!) and her gay boss, Freddie. I absolutely abhor the day-dreaming episodes and would have loved to read more about the interactions between the pr [...]

    7. I've not had much luck with the Little Black Dress books I've picked up in the past. They've mostly turned out to be romance novels but I've still put them on my chick-lit shelf.This book thoughis was actually a great piece of chick-lit.The characters were great, the writing was lovely and I devoured this book so quickly. It was so nice to read some American chick-lit when most of the stuff I read is British. Which isn't a problem but sometimes I'm just in the mood for New York.A great book.

    8. This was another cute chick lit fast read. My only disappointment in the book was the fact that the only decent guy was Cole, with the exception of the gay boss and the groom at the cousin's wedding (who we only met in passing). It kind of bums me out that there couldn't have been one other available guy who stayed decent throughout the entire book. Maybe I'm asking too much of a lite read, though. Otherwise, I enjoyed the tone and the attitude quite a bit!

    9. Izzy Duncan's about to get a huge promotion but everything goes wrong. First Emerson Bond dies, then Izzy accidentally offends her next star artist, and then her love life takes a turn for the worse. Things start to look up when Izzy finds out her boss just might be her dream man, but then she discovers that the new boss has some secrets. Jamie is Izzys best firend who writes a newspaper column about pick up lines. Every chapter starts with a pick up line.

    10. I had low expectations for this book. In fact, it kicked around in the trunk of my car as a "book to have on hand in case I get stuck somewhere" for a few months.But I finally started to read it and then raced through it. What a delightful read. The characters are a little eccentric and a little zany but easy to sympathize with and to cheer. Loved it.

    11. Could have been better if the author had actually done some research and found that Australia and Britain are two separate countries on opposite sides of the world to each other. Could not understand why one character who was Australian was described as having a Robbie Williams type accent!

    12. Snappy, vivid writing, realistic and sympathetic charactersm, and unpredictable plot twists give this chicklit novel weight. Fans of Jane Green and Candace Bushnell will enjoy this funny, candid and clever look at the NYC dating scene.

    13. I love the occasional chick-lit book, but this one horrible. I forced myself through half of it and then wondered why I was torturing myself when I have so many other great books on my list to read.

    14. Although it was predictable, and the plot kind of reminded me of P&P, I did enjoy the build up and the whole art scene. Just wish more time was spent on the relationship part and less on the quirky friends.

    15. Lovely! Kept me constantly wondering about the ending. Quite unpredictable. Makes a good change.Characters not completely developed. But then again, maybe that was the point-for reader to figure out himself.

    16. Random book I picked up when I was bored. I was in a different state at the time so I didn't get to finish it, but I got to page 131

    17. i really liked it. towards the end, i just wanted to finish. i knew there had to be some twist/catch i wasn't able to figure it. will definitely check out more books by this author.

    18. I loved this book! It was really a cute story with a great female lead character. A really enjoyable read.

    19. This was perfect nonsense. Nothing serious, plot easily predictable, but a good fun easy read. Loved it. Okay perhaps three and a half stars but fun.

    20. More chick lit. Fun and brainless with a few laugh out loud moments. Totally predictable of course, but an enjoyable quick read.

    21. Ok it is what it is. A nice chick lit story. It was nice read while on vacation and sitting by the pool.

    22. This was a cute easy read. The main character has an inner monologue that was really funny. It is a good vacation book, very light!

    23. Fun book, it had me hooked for hours! It was just a fun, fuzzy read where everything comes together in the end. Not exactly literature, but great read!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *