• Title: Life as I Know It
  • Author: Melanie Rose
  • ISBN: 9780385343992
  • Page: 272
  • Format: Paperback
  • Life as I Know It What if you had the chance to live someone else s life Full of heart and soul here is a captivating novel about the choices we make for family and love and how sometimes a total stranger is the perso
    What if you had the chance to live someone else s life Full of heart and soul, here is a captivating novel about the choices we make for family and love and how sometimes a total stranger is the person we really need to be.Jessica Taylor is walking her dog in the rain when she meets the man of her dreams only to be struck by lightning moments later When she wakes up in tWhat if you had the chance to live someone else s life Full of heart and soul, here is a captivating novel about the choices we make for family and love and how sometimes a total stranger is the person we really need to be.Jessica Taylor is walking her dog in the rain when she meets the man of her dreams only to be struck by lightning moments later When she wakes up in the hospital, the doctors insist she s someone else Lauren Richardson, wife and mother of four.Lauren s husband wants nothing than for life to get back to normal complete with a well organized house and very properly behaved children But Lauren s kids haven t been allowed to have much fun, and one of them has special needs Can Jessica embrace this family of strangers and become the wife and mother they need As she struggles to find her way in this new life and the way back to her old life she reconnects with Lauren s estranged sister and discovers a secret that could rip the family apart.Now, torn between Lauren s responsibilities to her family and Jessica s chance at love, one woman is about to find out whether the road not taken leads to happiness or to heartbreak.

    One Reply to “Life as I Know It”

    1. The first couple of chapters of this book were super intriguing. I wanted to know what was going to happen next and how on earth everything would work out. Unfortunately there was one particular scene that pretty much ruined the rest of the book. I don't appreciate sexual content in novels and I especially don't approve of it when it is masquerading as true love. I'm sorry but you cannot be "in love" with someone whom you've only known for a couple days and feel this "instant connection" that le [...]

    2. I was in the mood to read time-travel romance that's when I came across Could it be magic. Ms. Rose did a great job by writing such a unique story. This is a contemporary so don't expect erotica. The concept of the book is cheesey and hard to believe. Something that you would read and think this can't be possible or this won't work. But Ms.Ross worked quite hard and development a unique story. She juggled two stories and described them in a way that readers never got confused.What I liked the mo [...]

    3. I really liked this book all the way up until about the last chapter. I couldn't wait to find out how the author would get the character(s) out of their pickle but felt the end was a disappointment. Not sure how else it could have ended though?!

    4. This is an interesting and different take on the time-travel/body-switching trope. No time-travel, but body-switching involved. Though there is some romance, it's not really a romance per se, which is also a nice change from the usual fare. If you like the body-switching/figuring-out-how-to-live-someone-else's-life plot, this book is worth a try.

    5. I don't think I would have chosen to read this book if it was not a book club pick. However, I was intrigued by the premise of this book and the first few chaptes hooked me. The more I read the more I had to suspend my disbelief. Usually I am the one reminding others to suspend their disbelief and try to just enjoy a story. This was TOO much of a stretch for me. I kept hoping that the "soul switching bodies" thing would turn out to not really be happening - be the cause of a coma or a mental bre [...]

    6. I really wanted to love this one, but it was like a flutter of heartbeats followed by a flat-line. I read it as a read-alike to Cecelia Ahern, one of my favorite authors. It worked in tone and set-up (two women struck by lightning at the same time, one dies and the soul of the other begins alternating between their bodies) but the "substance" of Ahern (a term I use loosely in relation to chick-lit) was lacking.The premise was promising but Rose never took it anywhere. The characters seem richly [...]

    7. Question: Why does GoodReads eat my review every single time I write a negative review? I'm beginning to think it's a secret program hidden within GoodReads. Ha. Now I sound like a conspiracy nut. Anyway Picture this:Single woman meets a man, falls immediately in love, and is struck by lightening a few moments later. True love, mind you, in three minutes.Woman has miraculously switched bodies and lives with another woman, a mother of four, while retaining her own personality completely. Only one [...]

    8. Loved this book!! From the moment lightening struck I was drawn into this very unique, thought provoking novel. Melanie Rose gives new meaning to the age old question What if you had the chance to live someone else's life? This book touched me in an inexplicable way. I couldn’t put it down though not in the typical suspense/thriller manner. Hidden under the fluffy cover lies a book that is both heartwarming yet at the same time filled with moral dilemmas and how the characters respond to them. [...]

    9. I'm stingy with my four stars, but this one was close -- a delightful and very entertaining story with a plot that, while unlikely to the point of verging on science fiction, was made totally believable and compelling. The storyline is elaborated on elsewhere (quick version: simultaneous lightening strike results in protagonist inhabiting another woman's body and alternating with her own body while the other woman sleeps), but what elevated this book from "chick lit" to thought-provoking was tha [...]

    10. Contains Spoilers -So maybe the general idea of what happens when lightening strikes is a popular theme at the moment (there was an ITV series about it but involving a gender swap) but I felt slightly untouched by this. Jessica is young, single and unfullfilled. Lauren is rich, unhappily married with four children. Lightning strikes after Jessica meets the man of her dreams and she manages to live both lives. Found the characterisation weakJessica suddenly becomes an earth mother?! Dan is simply [...]

    11. I had the chance to read this before it came out (thank you GoodReads!) and didn't know how to post my review without giving anything away! Anyway, this book is FABULOUS! It is very well written, and I couldn't put it down. From the first lightning strike, I was hooked. The description was so awesome: Single girl struck by lightning wakes up in another woman's body--she is suddenly married with four kids! It was so clever and creative and I just loved it. The journey the character goes on is ins [...]

    12. Life as I Know It is an amazing bookwhen I firsted picked this book up, i couldn't stop reading it and it came to the point that I yelled at anybody who interrupted me. Even when I would take a break from reading this book, i would contemplate on what would happen next.This book is about two women struck by lighting at the same moment but only one survived. And so Jessica is some how stuck living her life and someone elses at the same time.In the beginning of the book i liked Jessica lifesyle fi [...]

    13. The premise was intriguing: woman gets hit by lightening splitting her soul into two different women, but it all worked out a little too neatly in the end, and I don't think getting saddled with someone else's four kids and having your own parents suffer losing you is a very satisfactory conclusion. She conveniently loses her own job, one that she claims to love throughout the whole book. She was quite content with her own, single life and now she's raising four kids and, oh, how convenient, her [...]

    14. I have never been so disappointed! This book had such a cool premise, and I had to finish it to see how it ended of course. BUT the character development was awful, the dialogue was hokey and unbelievable, and the plot was very underdeveloped. TOTAL BUMMER.

    15. Amazing read! I thought it was just your usual chick lit but it was so much more than that and ran very deep, found myself actually crying at the end.I also didn't know how the book was going to pan out til the last chapter which is a refreshing chance.Loved it!

    16. When Jessica Taylor is struck by lightning one afternoon whilst walking her dog, she has no idea how dramatically her life is going to change! Lucky to survive, Jessica wakes up in a hospital bed – but as someone else. Apparently she’s now Lauren Richardson, wife and mother of four young children. No one will believe her story – she can hardly believe it herself. Later that night, Jessica wakes up again – as herself. She quickly works out that when Lauren sleeps, she wakes up as Jessica. [...]

    17. I liked the parts with the children enough, but thought there would be more to the two souls concept. I guess I just have to believe it's a fantasy situation? I would be able to believe it if the rest of the story wasn't so realistic and normal. I also did not like how the author killed off Jessica in the end. I understand she wanted a way for the character to end up with both Dan and the children, but it was a cop-out way to do it. I also HATED the love at first sight situation. I'm sorry that [...]

    18. If it deserves 3.5 stars from me should I have rated it 4 instead? Either way, I liked this book because I enjoy "what if" stories that make me wonder how I would handle the situation if I were in it. To enjoy this book you need to be able to just go with it and not over analyze or question realities. It wraps up like a predictable Hollywood romance would but so what? That can be fun. Not sure if that was a true spoiler or not - I didn't give details!

    19. What a load of crap. Had high hopes - interesting premise and the writing was good, but the message is an insulting load of cloying bs to any childfree woman who picks it up. I could maybe - maybe - and it's pushing it - buy that she became attached to poor little Teddy, but four of them? Give me a break.

    20. Melanie Rose has such out-there, unpredictable story ideas, her books are complete page-turners. I guess the reason she's not as well-read as Sophie Kinsella and Cecilia Ahern (the authors the cover blurb compares her with) is that her writing doesn't quite reach their level. But that's not a biggie when her books leave you puzzling over what just happened with a smile on your face.

    21. J'ai vraiment dévoré ce roman. Les personnages sont intéressants et attachants et leurs relations et interactions sont puissantes, touchantes et pleines d'émotions. Étant une maman moi-même, j'ai particulièrement aimé la relation entre la nouvelle Lauren et les enfants et tout particulièrement avec Teddy. Merci à ma bibliothécaire pour ses bons conseils.

    22. Fun, light hearted summer read- especially if you can suspend disbelief and just go with it. :)

    23. Interesting idea at the onset of the book, but the chapters felt long and lacked plot development. I didn't finish the book.

    24. Ein faszinierendes Buch, das ich kaum aus der Hand legen konnte! Ich habe vorher schon geahnt, dass es so enden wird. Alles in allem sehr lesenswert, auch für die, die sonst nicht sooo auf Fantasy stehen.

    25. 3,6 von 5 Sternen*Inhalt:*Jessica lernt Mister Perfect kennen, doch nur wenige Minuten später wird sie vom Blitz getroffen. Mit Schrecken muss sie feststellen, dass sie in einem anderen Körper im Krankenhaus aufwacht. In Laurens Körper, einer 4fachen Mutter mit Ehemann. Und als ob das nicht schon verrückt genug sei, stellt sie fest, dass immer wenn sie als Lauren schlafen geht, sie in ihrem eigenen Körper aufwacht und dann ihr eigenes Leben bis zum Schlafengehen führt. Das bringt allerhand [...]

    26. "Mein Tag ist deine Nacht" von Melanie Rose erschien im Original als "Could it be magic" und wurde 2009 erstmals auf deutsch übersetzt.Worum geht es? Klappentext:Was wäre, wenn Sie plötzlich im Körper einer Fremden aufwachen würden? Vier entzückende Kinder hätten, eine luxuriöse Villa und einen liebenden Mann – aber nicht einmal Ihren Namen wüssten? Genau das passiert Jessica, in deren Singleleben doch gerade erst die Liebe wie der Blitz einschlug. Und das ist erst der Anfang: Sobald [...]

    27. Jessica žije vcelku obyčejný život. Ráno do práce, večer domů. Doma na ni čeká pouze fenka Frankie. Nic neobvyklého, nic nadpřirozeného.Když jde ale jednou s Frankie na procházku, přižene se bouřka a do Jessici uhodí blesk.Když se Jessica probudí v nemocnici, všichni s ní jednají jako s Lauren Richardsonovou, vdanou ženou a matkou čtyř dětí. Jessica to nejprve považuje za hodně divný sen, a když se probudí jako Jessica, myslí si, že to je už pryč. Když ale [...]

    28. Life As I Know It — Melanie Rose (17 chapters + Prologue + Epilogue) June 10, 2017This is a semi-paranormal romance.I’ve been reading a lot of disappointing books lately. This one sounded like it might be different and better than those other books. Sadly, though it is different, it wasn’t the right kind of different.The best way to describe this books is that it’s a happier version or Dr. Jeykll and Mr. Hyde. A woman is struck by lightening and she alternates between two women depending [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *